Unseasonable Stitching

Happy Halloween everybody!

This week, I’ve taken a break from Christmas stitching (even though I’m never going to hit my card making deadlines at this rate!). Instead, I’ve been working on this absolutely stunning Michael Powell design – nearly finished now!

Michael Powells Mini Greek Islands 2

This is the design ‘Mini Greek Islands 2’ by Michael Powell, which can be purchased HERE. I used the chart only rather than a kit so I could replace a couple of the colours for ever so slightly brighter ones. I want to make this into a little Christmas gift for my Mum, because we both have such wonderful memories of holidays on beautiful Santorini when I (and she! – haha! ) was younger.

As I stitch I think longingly of the Greek summer sun, and wish my fingers weren’t so numb from the cold that I can barely hold the needle! I think it will be done in one or maybe two more days, and then it’s back to the Christmas cards and the mad dash to the December finish line.

Here’s a little gallery I put together so I can keep track of how much progress I make in each stitching session.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh, and one final thing – Can anyone recommend to me some decent cross stitch charting software that doesn’t break the bank please? I’ve become dissatisfied with KGChart, which is what I’ve used up until now, and I have a couple of new patterns waiting to be uploaded which I’d like to try a different program with. Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

