Holiday Stitching

I’ve just got back from a lovely break in Dorset (on the South coast of England for my overseas readers), and had every intention of updating my blog with all the stitching I had got done over the holiday.

West Bay, Dorset - my holiday base camp and the filming location of the TV show 'Broadchurch'

West Bay, Dorset – my holiday base camp and the filming location of the TV show ‘Broadchurch’

However, as is so often the case, the holiday was so full of activities that I ended up doing very little! The sun shone almost all the time, so there was lots of shooting, sailing and sightseeing, as well as cider-tasting, fossil-finding and garden-visiting; by the time I made it back each evening, I was far too tired to sew.

A view of the gardens of Mapperton House, the setting for the new film version of 'Far From the Madding Crowd'

A view of the gardens of Mapperton House, the setting for the new film version of ‘Far From the Madding Crowd’

I did treat myself to a few charity-shop bargains, including a dozen or so pre-2000 Cross Stitcher magazines – the 90s nostalgia is powerful, and the fashion choices now somewhat questionable, but old cross stitch designs are still great even if they require some adapting to bring them up to date.DMC Flowers of the Month Kit

I also snagged this DMC kit, ‘Flowers of the Seasons’, for a couple of pounds which seems to have been discontinued sometime when I was still in school!! Not sure that I’ll ever actually stitch it but it is still in good condition so it will probably end up on the old Ebay store in due course.

As for my actual stitching, I started a new large project, my first since I finished the Geishas. Here it is, along with all the progress I have to show for my time away:

As you can see, I got an awful lot done…or not! This is the Art Deco Skyscape by Barbara Thompson, which I got from Choices HERE, along with a matching design from the same range. I was immediately drawn to this picture for several reasons, it would match the decor in the living room, and it contains shiny beads being just two – but mostly it reminded me of one of my favourite video games, Bioshock.

Cityscape from the game Bioshock, which inspired my purchase of this kit

Cityscape from the game Bioshock, which inspired my purchase of this kit

In this game, you are exploring a massive underwater metropolis called Rapture set in the 1960s, but with heavy art deco influences in the design of the architecture and the character’s costumes. I thought the blues and aquas in the kit were reminiscent of the ocean, and the beads made me think of pearls and the softness of lights seen through water.

In any case, now I have yet another half-finished project on the go as my main holiday souvenir, along with half a dozen bottles of mead and a sunburned nose!

One thought on “Holiday Stitching

Leave a Reply

