Granny Bacon – Yogscast Mini Sampler Card

I have a good friend who is pretty much a super-fan of a YouTube video group called The Yogscast, who make comedy videos based on popular video games. For his birthday, I wanted to make him a Yogscast themed card, so I looked up some of their most popular characters and shows and so on to get some inspiration. I quickly found one I liked a lot – an old woman known as Granny Bacon, who works at a greasy spoon cafe in a fantasy adventure land. The series she is from seems to be semi-improvised and is very funny! So, combining a line from one of her ‘scenes’ with some traditional style wedding sampler motifs, I arrived at this:

'Old Woman, I demand your finest bacon!'

‘Old Woman, I demand your finest bacon!’

I really enjoyed making this! It was silly and fun and quick to do, although I definitely need to work on my spacing of text. I was in a hurry to get it done in time and, I confess, I didn’t plan the lettering out, I just stitched it straight on, and it shows. Sadly, it appears Granny Bacon passed away (then was reanimated as a zombie), so maybe she needs a memorial sampler as well? There are plenty of good TV and movie quotes that I feel need the ‘sampler’ treatment and would make really good little cards!

Leave a Reply

